Planning Commission

The Planning Commision for the City of Watertown is made up of seven appointed commissioners, and a, ex-officio representative from Watertown Township. Planning Commission members are: Jim Rivord, Jim Sandquist, Don Hendricks, Jennifer O'Connell, Jeff Onell, and Elizabeth Schulze.

The Planning Commission serves in an advisory role to the City Council in all matters related to Comprehensive Planning, zoning, platting, changes in streets, and other matters of a general planning nature.

Planning Commission Meetings

The Planning Commission holds regularly scheduled meetings on the fourth Thursday of each month at 6:30 pm, unless otherwise noted.  All meetings are open to the public. View meeting agenda and packet items here.




Planning Commission Vacancy

 The City is currently accepting applications to serve on the Planning Commission. The Commission typically meets once per month and acts as an advisory board to the City Council on items pertaining to zoning, planning, growth, and comprehensive plan.Terms on the Commission are for 3 years. Complete and return the application to Shane Fineran, City Administrator at or if you have additional questions.

Commission Application 

Applications and Deadlines

 Planning and Zoning applications requireing review by the Planning Commission need to be submitted by the noted deadlines in order to be properly reviewed and noticed for public hearing if required. Planning and zoning applications can be found below. If you have questions about an application and supporting materials, process, or any other planning and zoning questions please contact 952-955-2681 or email Shane Fineran, City Administrator.

Application Submittal Date Planning Commission Date City Council Date
August 1, 2019 August 22, 2019 August 27, 2019
September 5, 2019 September 26, 2019 October 8, 2019
October 3, 2019 October 24, 2019 November 12, 2019
November 14, 2019 December 5, 2019 December 10, 2019




Application for Annexation Lot Split Combination Application General Development Application   
Petition for Municipal Services  Minor Subdivision Application  Sketch Plat Application  Sketch Plat Checklist
Comprehensive Plan Amendment  Zoning Tex Amendment Application  Preliminary Plat Application  
Conditional Use Application  Re-Zoning Application  Final Plat Application  
Interim Use Application  Variance Application  Site Plan Application  Site Plan Checklist
 Sign Permit  Vacation of Easement    



Comprehensive Plan

A City’s Comprehensive Plan presents the vision of itself: what distinguishes it, what it values and how it will develop in coherence with the whole region. The plan provides a rational basis for local land use decisions with a twenty-year vision for future planning and community decisions.  The City of Watertown has had a Comprehensive Plan in place since 1981. 
The lifelong vitality of the seven-county Twin Cities metropolitan region depends on planning for steady and coherent change. The challenges and inherent planning for the region come together through cooperation between local and regional planners. The Metropolitan Council, the regional planning agency, is charged with supporting and promoting communication across the seven-county area to implement the requirements and provisions of the Metropolitan Land Planning Act (aka comprehensive planning law). 
The City of Watertown is part of the seven-county metropolitan area which is governed by the Metropolitan Land Planning Act (part of Minnesota State Statute). The Metropolitan Land Planning Act requires each local unit of government to review and update their comprehensive plans at least once every 10 years. Plan updates and amendments are evaluated based on three criteria: 
Conformance with all metropolitan systems policy plans for transportation, water resources, and parks
Consistency with the Metropolitan Land Planning Act and Metropolitan Council policies
Compatibility with the plans of other jurisdictions including School District, Minnesota Department of Transportation, and Carver County
The Metropolitan Land Planning Act requires a plan to cover four main components including 1) the background—setting the stage, 2) land use—allocating resources and accommodate population growth, 3) public facilities (transportation, water resources, and parks)—protecting infrastructure, and 4) implementation programs to carry out the plans.